Jean-Marie Mariotti Center

Structure of the JMMC



The JMMC is headed by a Director who manage the general activities of the center and the relations with Institutes abroad. He is assisted by a Scientific Director who coordinates the research and production activities of the Groups and of the Software Development Center.

JMMC activities concerning software production and maintainance are grouped in a National Observation Service (SNO5 in French typology) called MOIO (for Méthodes et Outils pour l'Interférométrie Optique). MOIO projects are driven by a Project Manager at the Software Development Center. The JMMC activities concerning User Support, Education and Outreach are grouped in a separate National Observation Service, the SNO3 SUV (for Service aux Observateurs du VLTI). The JMMC as a whole makes the French Pôle de données d'interférométrie optique.

Groups are association of researchers and engineers around a common R&D interest.


  • 2013+ Gilles Duvert
  • 2001-2012 Alain Chelli

Scientific Council

The projects of the JMMC are defined, analysed and priorized by a Scientific Council representative of the Partner Laboratories. The Scientific Council is formed by:

Gilles Duvert (Director, OSUG)
André Ferrari (OCA)
Jean-Francois Gonzalez (CRAL)
Sébastien Derriere (CDS)
Sylvestre Lacour (OBSPM)
Laurent Mugnier (ONERA)
Nicolas Nardetto (OCA)
Coralie Neiner (OBSPM)
Thibaut Paumard (OBSPM) : chair
Pierre-Olivier Petrucci (OSUG)

Past members of the Scientific Council

Pascal Bordé (IAS)
Alain Chelli (OSUG)
Olivier Chesneau † (OCA)
Françoise Genova (Representative ASOV, CDS, Obs. Strasbourg)
Pierre Kervella (Obs. Paris)
Bruno Lopez (OCA)
Fabien Malbet (OSUG)
Denis Mourard (OCA)


Engineers are detached to JMMC by the Partner Laboratories, on a yearly basis, or per project.


The JMMC administration is provided by IPAG.

Aline Bellosguardo
Past secretary : Fabienne Boucard, Laurence Platel.